The Nova Scotia College of Counselling Therapists (NSCCT) oversees the practice of counselling therapy in Nova Scotia. Established in 2011 by the Government of Nova Scotia through the Department of Health and Wellness, NSCCT ensures that all practicing registered members meet and maintain licensing requirements and adhere to the Code of Ethics and Standards of Practice referenced in the Counselling Therapists Act. The college’s core values align with the Canadian Counselling and Psychotherapy Association (CCPA).

NSCCT is governed by a board of directors who have a mandate to serve and protect the public interest, preserve the integrity of the counselling therapy profession, and maintain public confidence in the ability of the profession to regulate itself.

The profession of counselling therapy in Nova Scotia spans over 20 years. Counselling therapists were first registered under the Societies Act (1995) and the former Nova Scotia Association of Counselling Therapists.

Our Qualifications

Registered Counselling Therapists hold a counselling-related master’s degree as a minimum level of education. We complete 2,000 hours of supervised postgraduate clinical work which includes 800 direct therapist-client counselling hours. To maintain our license, we engage in at least 12 hours of professional development each year in the form of workshops, courses, online seminars, and externships.

See Member Registry

Organization Overview

Board of Directors
Chair — Kim Strange, RCT
Vice-Chair — Jeff MacDonald, RCT
Past Chair — Joe Bishara, RCT
Treasurer — Marian McDonald, RCT
Secretary — Kelly Davison, RCT
Member at Large — Susan Dewolf, RCT
Member at Large — Kyla Friel, RCT-C
Member at Large — Nigel Tinker, RCT-C
Member at Large — Janet Tomlinson, RCT
Ex-Officio — Registrar, Ruth Mitchell, RCT
Public Representative — Wayne DiPersio

The Registrar
A Registered Counselling Therapist in good standing holds the position of registrar and reports to the board of directors. Ruth Mitchell, RCT, is the current registrar.

Regulatory Committees
Registration Committee
Complaints Review Committee
Registration Appeal Committee
Professional Conduct Committee
Re-Instatement Committee

Non-regulatory Committees
Billing Access and Employment Access Committee
Legal Committee
Membership Committee
Public Relations Committee
Professional Development Committee
Policy and Procedure Committee
Website Committee